09
Jun
08

crystal skulls and such

How can you resist a review of Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull  that begins with “Lucas, Spielberg, Ben Burtt – the legends of film making. The film masters.  Ben Burtt is the guy who did the Lightsaber sounds.” 

Ok, so this video review is from some fifteen year old kid in his basement and I really shouldn’t make fun… but come on:  “I like the fact that in the opening, in the military base, they played that music, like in Raiders of the Lost Ark; I was like man, this really feels like a classic film.”  Click inside and watch the video If you want to know how he drew this conclusion: “I don’t usually give a rating, but Raiders of the Lost Ark, Crystal Skull and Last Crusade are all tied.   And the lowest is Temple of Doom.”

His name is Goten2255 (or at least that’s his YouTube handle and how he refers to himself).  I can’t recall the exact nature of the clicks that brought me this gem, but as hard as it’s going to be, do yourself a favor and watch all nine minutes of this and the second part.  Coughs and all.

PART ONE:



 

George Lucas really knows how to do the 1950s… he did it with the American Graffiti… I’ve never seen that movie, but I heard about it… what I liked was the women dressed like how they were in the 1950s, the guys dressed how like they were in the 1950s, they even had the the town look like the 1950s and such, like the milk shakes. 

 

PART TWO:


Hollywood, I don’t know what happened to you guys – these are the films that needed to come back.  I don’t know what happened.  Where’s the magic?  The classic trilogies had magic in them.  And the other thing about it – they had a lot of magic.  It’s kind of odd to see that Hollywood is not the same anymore like it was in the past.

 

I think this guy is going to be famous and such.

 

 


4 Responses to “crystal skulls and such”


  1. 1 Aj
    June 9, 2008 at 8:06 am

    You just might be right about the kid, Mojo. His heart’s in it. He has the sense of wonder. And he misses the magic of Hollywood. So do I.

  2. 2 Doug Drexler
    June 10, 2008 at 7:24 am

    The magic of Hollywood is that they actually got you to go see it!

    – Doug

  3. 3 Gage Ermin
    June 11, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    You know what, I totally remember seeing a movie and feeling like this kid feels. It was that feeling that made me want to get into animation.

    If it can make more kids feel this way, he’s right. Hollywood does need more movies like that.

    So, Thanks, awkward You Tube kid. You made me remember some good times…

  4. 4 Tushan
    May 8, 2009 at 9:19 am

    …and the three guys responding just don’t get it =)

    You gotta admit it – there’s nerds and nerds.


Leave a Reply

