16
Nov
09

and the winner is…

XXLKirk-combo

So the polls are closed and the results are… interesting.  During the first few days of voting, the “Khhhaaaaannnn!!” image was well ahead with double the votes of everyone else.  The race for second was very close indeed, and “Animated XL Kirk” was the front runner for last place.  Then I opened the floor up to “Kobayashi Maru” tactics.  Within 24 hours, the results had completely changed – the number of votes had doubled, with “Action Figure” firmly in first place, followed closely (in order) by The Horse, Tribbles and Animated XXL.  “Khaaaannn!!” was now in last place (ironically, I know for a fact that Jon (creator of the “Khhhaaaaannn!!” image) was the only one not cheating).  But things really took an unexpected turn over the weekend…

It seemed that Pacimage (creator of The Horse) had really picked up the cheating gauntlet, since by late Friday night he had taken the lead with well over 1,000 votes – 4 times more than his nearest competitor.  Clearly he had come up with an inventive way to boost his score.  Here’s what the final tally looked like:

The Horse – 10,000

Action Figure – 1219

Animated XXL – 669

Tribbles – 454

Khhhaaannn!! – 139

 

Clearly Pacimage managed to score the highest number of votes… but is The Horse image truly the winner of the contest?

I’m still collecting data and mulling things over.  In the meantime, I’d like to hear what you think.  Chime in with your comments and tell us who you think the winner really is.  Does the top cheater deserve the top prize?  The debate starts now! I’ll even turn off comment approval for this one…

Thanks to Doublefive for the crazy hybrid contest image!

 


35 Responses to “and the winner is…”


  1. 1 Ed
    November 16, 2009 at 4:27 am

    Well, maybe you can have two winners? One winner for not cheating (And for being the one that seemed most likely to win untill the cheating began), and the other being the Horse photo because of the most cheating.

    Yes, that’s right kids, cheating is both good AND bad…

  2. 2 pacimage
    November 16, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Kobayashi Maru. I guess this is supposed to be the “Hearing” scene, where Kirk has to defend himself.

    Exhibit A: https://darthmojo.wordpress.com/2009/11/12/contest-cheaters-exposed/

    Exhibit B:

    darthmojo, November 12, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    “In case anyone doubts me, I really do mean what I said – if Kirk can be rewarded for cheating, so should the contestants in a Kirk contest!…”

    Mojo, if you didn’t encourage us to cheat…

    Yes, I admit it, it might have been a different outcome. I guess we’ll never really know. Kirk blatantly cheated… so did I… and I wanted to show it (stopping at 1701 votes, 2009, 4077, and ultimately 10,000).

    I don’t like to lose! ;)

    <>

  3. November 16, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Give him an award for creative thinking and then send him off to be a phaser tech on the Farragut. :P

  4. November 16, 2009 at 7:56 am

    If getting 10,000 votes involved sitting there clicking over and over then I think a straitjacket might be an appropriate prize. ;) Either way, the horse and Khan sound like they equally deserve to be declared winners.

  5. 5 pacimage
    November 16, 2009 at 8:07 am

    John… yup, it did… and yes, the jacket would probably be a good idea! LOL

  6. 6 darthmojo
    November 16, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Ultimately we just need to track down Mr. XXL Kirk himself and let HIM pick his favorite.

    The winner gets to have dinner with him.

  7. 7 pacimage
    November 16, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Mojo… he would probaby want to sue us all for defamation!

  8. 8 MikeS
    November 16, 2009 at 9:24 am

    I think that it should be pointed out that Kirk didn’t always go around cheating. It was only when it wasn’t a fair fight to begin with. So, I wish that Mojo hadn’t openly endorsed cheating and I think that the prize should go to the Khan image.

  9. 9 doubleofive
    November 16, 2009 at 10:13 am

    I think the horse image is good, and the cheating was so over-the-top that it should be rewarded. With what, I’m not sure…

    And Mojo, its “doubleofive”, not just “Doublefive”. However, you can call me Doublefive if you want to. :-D

  10. 10 pacimage
    November 16, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Well, it WAS opened up for cheating… what can I say? Yes, I took on Mojo’s challenge, I played by the rules, and took it as part of the criteria of the contest, and cheated… big time! And yes, some people actually voted for The Horse, it wasn’t ALL me.

  11. November 16, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Okay… I’ll break my silence on this.

    Within 24 hours it seemed clear someone was alledgedly getting extra votes by asking for people to vote just for them. Mojo’s humourous take on this was that it was a very ‘Captain Kirk’ way of winning.

    But I felt The Kobayashi Maru was only half the lesson learned by Kirk. The second half was that cheating should be for the benefit of his crew.

    So I decided I would cheat. But not in the way people would think. My initial goal was to increase everybody’s vote by a couple of hundered, built up slowly so as not to make it obvious it was just one person doing the additional voting. My aim was for everyone to have say, 250 votes exactly each by the end of the competition with the exception of the person who had originally cheated. I would sacrifice winning alone, and instead we would all have come joint first except for that person who seemed to have too many votes to begin with. It was going to make a point.

    Because I think that the needs of the many out-weigh the needs of the one – that’s the lesson I learned from Star Trek!

    It was quite simple to do. There is a script that automatically sends an additional vote for whomever you wish at a rate of once every six seconds. You don’t have to be at your PC, just leave it running.

    This would have been fine, but Mr.Horsey also became aware of this little script, and began running it, from precisely 7:30am UK time the other morning I noticed, to award himself a few thousand votes. And whenever I would increase someone elses vote, he’d increase his own all the more. It seemed even after I had already given him an extra 200 votes he in turn decided the good of the one out-weighed every last one of us!

    Oh well… I just wanted to set the record straight that despite all their votes, Animated Kirk and Tribbles weren’t in fact themselves cheating…

    …and it was all good fun :)

  12. 12 pacimage
    November 16, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Adian, I can verify that I did see someone leveling off the votes. I wish I knew about “the script”… I did it all manually!

  13. November 16, 2009 at 11:45 am

    …oh no please tell me you didn’t… are you mad?? That’s got to win for sheer effort!

  14. 14 pacimage
    November 16, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Ha! Ya, crazy, eh? I know… straightjacket is appropiate! Oh well…

  15. November 16, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Okay, Pacimage, siting at your computer and clicking thousands of times does deserve some kind of shout out.

    But Mojo and I have been having an off-line debate about this for the last few days. (I wish he’d publish some of our back-and-forth e-mails…we both made some excellent points and counter points.) I even interviewed my 8-year-old niece to hear her opinions, and then e-mailed the recording to Mojo.

    I might seem to be more morally righteous than the average bear. It’s not like I’m some bible-thumper; it’s just that somewhere along the line, my conscience decided that the world should be fair. I know a guy who works at at ISP who could have helped me cheat, but I just couldn’t bring myself to e-mail him. I can’t lie to my wife (which gets me into serious trouble when she asks me, “Honey, does this dress make me look fat?”–so she’s stopped asking me those kinds of questions). But I know the world is changing, and what was once a society that really came down hard on cheaters is turning into a society that quietly (and not so quietly) rewards and encourages them. The latest example was Mojo’s Kobayshi Maru challenge, but it was based on two different movies where our hero Captain Kirk is applauded for playing dirty.

    And yet, we try to have it both ways. We privately justify our own cheating while becoming morally outraged when home run record-holders admit to using steroids. The entire world decried the “blowout” re-election of Mahmoud Ahmadinejad in Iran when the exit polls showed him in a neck-and-neck tie. There were national protests, international condemnations, and yet, this dishonest leader remains in power.

    So can we really have it both ways? Can we truly be outraged that Ahmadinejad cheated to retain control of an oil-rich, nuclear-capable Middle Eastern country of 27 million people when we were willing to cheat just to win a Kirk Photoshopping contest on a blog site???

  16. 16 pacimage
    November 16, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Well said Jon… the world should be fair. When there is a green light to cheat… or this method is indorsed and incouraged, it ceases to become cheating, and becomes part of the rules, and I followed the rules, and maximized my chances to win.

    Now, the question of my sanity, or that I need to get a life, I think is valid, and up for debate ;)

  17. 17 CenturionTerminator
    November 16, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Darth, what have you done?

    That poor guy was just trying to make a few bucks as a model. He was probably desperate in this bad economy.

    And now you have made him a laughing stock on the internet.

    Maybe you really are a Sith Lord.

  18. November 16, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Jon, well now my vote tally makes sense.

    Pacimage, a fifty-cents off coupon for carpal tunnel surgery is on the way!

  19. 19 pacimage
    November 16, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Thank you Church, I need it! :)

    (and if someone has a coupon for spelling lessons… wow, do I need that too, or what?!?) :O

    Damn, after all of this fun, I want to find this XXL Kirk dude! Mojo needs to interview him! Anyone have a contact at Rubies Costumes?

  20. 20 ScottA
    November 16, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I agree with the comment made by MikeS… Kirk didn’t always go around cheating. His Kobayashi Maru cheat (discussed in “Wrath of Khan” and shown in the new “Trek” movie) was only because the test wasn’t fair to begin with. Oh, and he bluffed/lied to aliens a few times — for example in “The Corbomite Maneuver” — in order to save the lives of his crew.

    But Kirk was NOT a cheater, per se.

    This should have, and more importantly COULD have, been a fair voting contest. There was nothing inherently unfair about it. No reason to cheat. Despite Mojo allowing/encouraging cheating, I think this goes against what Star Trek is all about. And I don’t think that “pacimage” should win the contest.

    I think the person who made the “Khaaaaaaan!!!” image should win, because he was running away with the contest before Mojo encouraged cheating.

  21. 21 darthmojo
    November 16, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Terminator: If you think what we’ve done is meant to poke fun at the XXL Kirk model, then I’m afraid you’ve missed the point of the contest and don’t share quite the sense of irony the rest of us enjoyed; the point of humor in all this is the absurdity in the choice of person as a lookalike for Captain Kirk – no one is making fun of this guy, we’re just taking the ridiculous choice made by the costume company and running with it – by compounding the absurdity of the original choice, with this contest we’ve created a farce, which I do admit is a more sophisticated sense of humor. We’re sorry you didn’t get it.

  22. 22 Shane
    November 16, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    You can’t encourage cheating, making it a part of the contest, saying there may even be a prize for whoever blatantly cheats the most, then penalize the guy who hands down out-cheats everyone.
    winner = “The Horse”

  23. November 17, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Of course, ideally, I would have liked to see a genuine poll, but remember, this all started with someone cheating with regards to the Khaaaaaaaaaan image. While that image came last in the end, well… that was kinda the whole point. He who cheats first comes last.

    Next time we run a competition, maybe we should just count the number of registered log-ins who state their favourite in the comments section.

    As for Mojo encouraging cheating… this was only AFTER someone had been cheating with regards to the Khaaaaaaaaan image. He was simply making it fair for everyone at that point. And that post was nearly a week ago yet no-one complained at that time. Little point complaining after the competition has finished I think. Besides, it’s only a bit of fun :)

  24. 24 Grand Moff Melch
    November 17, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Yes, Kirk cheated on the Kobayashi Maru test because it wasn’t fair — but that was the whole point of the test. Kirk admitted that he never learned that lesson until he was faced with it for real.

    I despise cheaters when their actions affect other people who play by the rules. It’s one thing when cheating only hurts the dishonest person (by keeping them from learning or experiencing something), but when it skews a grading curve in school, displaces a student applying to a university, or knocks a job-seeker out of contention… then that selfish prick can fuck right off.

    Here’s my reading recommendation for the day — THE CHEATING CULTURE: WHY MORE AMERICANS ARE DOING WRONG TO GET AHEAD, by David Callahan (2004). Fascinating (and disturbing) stuff.

    As for this contest, our good host allowed — nay, encouraged — cheating, so in fairness the results must stand. Because to change the conditions of the test would be… um… cheating.

  25. 25 darthmojo
    November 17, 2009 at 12:34 am

    I never said I wasn’t going to reward the cheaters as promised – I simply asked for the opinion of my readers. I’ve been having some interesting debates and discussions with friends about cheating and I wanted to see the conversation carry over into the blog. And so it has.

    Also, I don’t know why people have assumed that there was any cheating involved with the Khaaan!! Image. There wasn’t. Some people have suggested that because in the first few days of voting that image was so far ahead it had to be the result of cheating, but I find that to be an unjust assumption. More people simply like that picture! When I show the images to friends in-person people get the biggest kick out of that one. That’s why it had the highest votes at first.

    Someone thought it was suspicious that the Khaaan!! Image was ahead AND I had said it was done by a friend of mine. Give me a break! If anything I had actually told people I *didn’t* want Jon to win because he’s a friend and it would be nice to give the prize to someone who didn’t have a direct connection to me (note that my endorsment went to the Action Figure).

    I said I would reward he who cheated best and I shall indeed honor that. I just wanted to hear YOUR opinions on the matter. Keep them coming!

  26. 26 darthmojo
    November 17, 2009 at 12:39 am

    GRAND MOFF MELCH: Hah, you raise an interesting point – it’s funny to see people voice concern that I might not play fair in a contest that was all about not playing fair. So let me get this straight – the cheaters are now afraid that I might cheat them?

    Fascinating…

  27. 27 Shane
    November 17, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Since I wasn’t even in the final five, and I still got three votes, I think that I should win…;)

  28. 28 James Rye
    November 17, 2009 at 6:34 am

    you’re all winners, its the taking part that counts.

    (chuckles)

  29. 29 pacimage
    November 17, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Thank you James… I agree with that thought.

  30. 30 doubleofive
    November 17, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Who would have thought that having a photoshop contest would lead to a morality debate! That’s good science fiction!

    Even if we didn’t learn the same lesson as Kirk or cheat for the good of all, Mojo said the person who cheats the best will win. “The Horse” should win. Especially since he did it by hand. That takes dedication.

    Mojo, since everyone knows how to cheat the system, maybe you should just pick the lightsaber contest winner instead of having us vote, since something physical is actually up for winning? ;-)

  31. November 17, 2009 at 8:46 am

    The winner gets to have dinner with him? And the cheater gets to be eaten by him!

    Well so much drama over photoshopping, I can hardly contain myself.

    *watches a piece of fluff roll along the floor*

  32. 32 CenturionTerminator
    November 17, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Darth, your intent may have been to make fun of his selection as the XXL model for the new Kirk costume.

    But the result is that he has become an object of ridicule throughout the internet.

    His face or image, which has been distorted in so many ways for sport, is being laughed at by millions of people.

    Do you understand this, my favorite Sith Lord?

  33. November 17, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    ….or dozens at least.

    The guy isn’t being laughed at – at all – I would be an equally unusual choice for a Captain Kirk lookalike. I’d just never get this amount of exposure.

    This guy has become a Star Trek Star. He’s practically canon!

  34. 34 Colonial Warrior
    November 17, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    A truelly good cheater never gets caught. Instead they generally learn how to shift the focus away from them onto someone else. Cheating, Faking, Pretending call it what you will but it is a part of life and when I say that I do not mean only human life. Nature uses assorted ways of cheating, Computer programs can have cheating built into them. Even Mojo I think would agree that with Lightwave there are ways to achieve a desired affect by cheating some process in an image creation. Lets face it one is either good at cheating or not good. Nevertheless you will encounter cheating at more than one point in your life span. Be thankful that generally you can catch a cheat when it happens and you’ve gained knowledge in the process. Rarely will you find someone that has Never ever ever ( did I mention ever? ) cheated at something.

    This online blog for the image contest was a very good and well done expiriment on several levels.

    Good show Mojo. Nice touch.

    Colonial Warrior.

    ( P.S. This post was cheated I used notepad with copy & paste )..

  35. 35 Shane
    November 17, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    So…….who won????


Leave a Reply

