10
Nov
09

vote: you choose the winner of “XXL Kirk” Photoshop contest! (updated)

twoKirks

Citizens of the Federation, it’s time to do your civic duty and vote for your favorite image in our “XXL Captain Kirk” Photoshop contest (review the last two posts if you’re in need of a briefing).  Staying true to the spirit of Star Trek, our hailing frequencies certainly reached out to the furthest star, as entries have come in from across the globe to create a truly international contest (just the way Gene would have liked it).   You’ll find the ballot after the jump, where we’ll show you the “final five” images and tell you a little bit about the evil geniuses behind them…

11/12 update: While it seems like “Khaaaaan!!” is the front runner, it’s still important for everyone to vote – as of now, the race for second place is VERY close, so, to keep things interesting, I will also offer a special prize (to be announced) for the second place contestant.  The runner-up spot is totally up for grabs at this point, so I suggest those of you in the running get out there and do some campaigning!

11/11 update: The votes are pouring in and while there seems to be a favorite it’s still a close race.  With three days of voting ahead, I strongly believe there may yet be some suprises in store!  Starting today I’ll be updating this post with celebrity endorsements as they come in.  That’s right – some of your favorite behind-the-scenes heavyweights have decided to show support for their favorite finalists, so be sure to check back and see who’s backing who!  I’m also still receiving new images (like the one above from DM reader Shane),  so if you have a great idea, by all means bring it to life and send it in – we’ll make sure everyone gets a peek at it.  XXL Kirk is here to stay!

 

Snazz: “Tribbles”snazz-moartribbles

“Snazz” is a graphic designer and CG artist from London and had this to say about creating the image:  I chose the tribble pic as a starting point because in my view it’s one of the most iconic images of Kirk and it’s already quite a fun setup. Having XXL Kirk gorging himself on the little critters was the natural conclusion :)  You can see more of his work by clicking here.

 

Capt. Jon: “KHAAAAAAAANNNN!!!”

jon-NewKirk-Khan

Our only finalist hailing from the US, Jon Lane has been a member of Starfleet, the oldest and largest Star Trek fan organization in the cosmos, for over 25 years.  Not content with just being a member, Jon has worked his way up the ranks and now serves as Chief of Communications (who says dreams don’t come true?).  About his entry, Jon said: This one moment is the quintessential Shatner-as-Kirk.  XXL Costume Guy just had to scream KHAAAAAN!!!  And for all you Photoshoppers wondering how I did this, the eyes and mouth are Shatner’s.  The rest is magic.

Who doesn’t love Kirk’s outburst of rage and frustration? Clever compositing melds both Fat Kirk’s face and Shatner’s performance, creating something that isn’t present in either original image.

Mike Okuda

 

Church: Animated Kirk

church-TAS

Church, a long-time reader and avid commenter here at Darth Mojo, would only say this about himself: I’m just a moderately successful Turing machine. Since I’m not going to win we’ll just leave it at that ;)  In regards to creating the image, he was more talkative: My Animated Series entry was just a Quick & Dirty Photoshop Elements pass with a posterization filter and some rudimentary trackpad brushwork. (It’s all I have loaded on my laptop.) I also tried to give it a bit more dimension with the smudge tool.

 

Adrian Patrick: “Action Figure”

adrian-action_F2

Adrian Patrick is a proud geek and artist working out of England.  Here’s his take on the contest:  As soon as I saw your post, the first thing I thought of was the merchandise. As a child I envied all my chums with their Star Trek action figures. Of course, even though I’m now older, I still envy them – as those figures would help pay the mortgage!  Regardless of how Kirk would have looked, I still would have wanted that doll back then (and today, so would my ebay account)!

I‘d like to cast my vote for the Fat Kirk Mego Action Figure. Not only is it an inspired idea and a call-back to a simpler time, the Photoshop work is swell, including the correct type face and the illustrative head shot of the Fat Kirk.

– Daren Dochterman

The “Action Figure” image is my personal favorite – not only does it stand out as being one of the most original concepts in the contest, technically speaking this entry is also top-notch; the face has that perfect action-figure texture and the name of the figure is distorted behind the plastic.  Brilliant!

– Mojo

 

SRH (aka Pacimage): “The Horse”

srh-XXLKirkhorse

Pacimage (aka Scott) is from Vancouver and currently involved in Graphics, Marketing and Systems Support. You can see some of his videos (including the infamous “Captain Kirk Farts” by clicking here. Scott had this to say about the contest: After all of this, I really do hope we find this guy and have some influence getting him into the next movie. I hope he has a great sense of humour, since, thanks to us, he dined on Tribbles, ate a Gorn, blew out the tires on a classic Corvette, wore an ill-fitting uniform, got thrown into an action figure box and a whale tank, lost his voice yelling KHHHAAANNNNN!, got turned into a Saturday morning cartoon and tortured a horse.  Mr. XXL Kirk Costume Guy: this was our salute to you! My deepest apologies.

I think Scott really summed up the feelings about this for all of us.  Now it’s your turn to have a say – vote for your favorite image and we’ll announce the winner on Friday.  Good luck to everyone!  And I encourage all of you to keep sending in pictures – the contest may be over but the laughter never dies.


11 Responses to “vote: you choose the winner of “XXL Kirk” Photoshop contest! (updated)”


  1. 1 doubleofive
    November 10, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Don’t forget the lightsaber contest that’s supposed to end today! You’re giving away too much!

  2. 2 darthmojo
    November 10, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Oh yeah, I almost forgot about the Lightsaber contest! I’m going to have to extend that one a bit more, this XXL Kirk thing took on a life of its own…

  3. 3 k
    November 10, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Well, since no one seems to have submitted what would have been the clear winner –

    “XXL Captain Kirk” at the Comedy Central Roast of Bill

    (original clips here: http://www.comedycentral.com/videos/index.jhtml?videoId=73180&title=william-shatner),

    I voted for next best choice:

    “KHAAAAAAAANNNN!!!”

    And not just because Jon is one of my “oldest” friends…all right, it was just because Jon is one of my “oldest” friends, but “oldest” really starts to mean something when it passes the quarter century mark…

  4. 4 James Rye
    November 11, 2009 at 6:36 am

    The Undicovered Country one is the best.

  5. November 11, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Just sent another one in. It’s funny, you only really appreciate how much the Shat has accomplished when you start replacing him with a different fat man.

    I think the horse pic is by far the funniest and most original, but I couldn’t resist voting for my tribble entry anyway. :)

  6. 6 ScottA
    November 11, 2009 at 9:07 am

    I was gonna’ vote for the action figure…. but when it came right down to it, I couldn’t NOT vote for “KHAAAAAAAAAN!!!”. It’s an iconic moment in trek lore, and the photoshopped image is an amazing blending of the faces of Shatner and XL Kirk.

    By the way, if you don’t believe that moment where Kirk yells Khan’s name is iconic — both dramatic and parodied — then check out this website: http://www.khaaan.com/ Be sure and have your speakers on, but not too loud!

    I was sent the link to it almost ten years ago. I check every once in a while to see if it’s still there. Some crazy fool has been paying for the web traffic for that for almost a decade!!! :-)

  7. 7 david yeung
    November 12, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    I like it.

  8. November 14, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    actually I like the undiscovered country one the best

  9. November 15, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    You know…

    to avoid statistical aberrations, you drop the lowest and the highest values, and call it even.

    How’s that for cheating.

  10. March 7, 2010 at 2:36 am

    2Y1QmZ Excellent article, I will take note. Many thanks for the story!


Leave a Reply

