25
May
09

happy birthday star wars!

MaxReboBirthdayCake

Thirty two years ago today (May 25, 1977) The Force was born and Star Trek  finally got some competition.  Thanks to George Lucas, an entire generation suddenly received their calling, as just about everyone I know who’s involved in some sort of creative occupation owes their inspiration to the original trilogy.  For some inexplicable reason, “The Homing Beacon” (the official site’s newsletter) is trying to get people to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Episode One, but the cool kids know the lucky numbers are 4, 5 and 6.

So, what’s the best way to spend this national holiday (we all have the day off, don’t we?)?  I for one just made a discovery that’s going to keep this  Corellian pilot busy for a few hours: The Star Wars Soundboard.  Now maybe all of you have already seen this, but I just discovered it over at Star Wars dot com and I still haven’t gotten my jaw up off the floor.  What you’ll find there are dozens of sound effects and lines of dialog – all completely clean  (meaning they’re isolated with no background noise).  Need a soundtrack for your very own Star Wars fan film?  Well get over there now!

Unfortunately, the sounds aren’t downloadable, but most decent audio software allows you to record “what you hear” over your PC speakers; simply start recording, click through all the sounds and then begin the laborious process of chopping up the WAV and saving each snippet as an individual file.  It may take some time, but it’s worth it to have an instant library of the most famous sound effects in movie history (thank you, Ben Burtt).

I know how I’ll  be spending a good chunk of Monday ;-)  [UPDATE: Thanks to “Pole” for providing this link to a RAR file that has all the sounds ready to go!]

In honor of today’s celebration, here’s a collection of the coolest Star Wars  birthday cakes this side of Mos Eisley.  Enjoy the holiday – and May The Force Be With You!

 

cake25

 

chewbacca

 

darth_vader_cake

 

destroyer

 

ep3

 

ep3b

 

 

hansolocakonite

 

jabba-star-wars-cake

 

Cake

 

normal_Clone_Wars_Cake

 

r2d2cake

 

R21

 

star_wars_cake

walker

 

walker2

 

yoda1

 

yoda2

 

force

 

I don’t know about you, but I think I’ll be switching over to the delicious side of the force…

New to DarthMojo?  Check out last year’s birthday salute, filled with even more goodies…


35 Responses to “happy birthday star wars!”


  1. May 25, 2009 at 5:30 am

    An Happy Birthday to Star Wars I wish! :)

  2. 2 Former Trekkie
    May 25, 2009 at 7:46 am

    We also wouldnt have Battllestar Galactica without star wars!Can you believe that Lucas sued Glen Larsen just because he used similar laser fx? As well of his so called concept of a rag tag fleet that was outnumbered and outgunned.As for the new trilogy Episode 1 was awful,Episode 2 was so/so,and Episode 3 was ok but not great.

  3. 3 Buckaroohawk
    May 25, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I vividly remember going to see Star Wars when I was 10 years old. My father took the whole family to the theater and we waited in line for what seemed like hours. It was a transformative experience for me. I walked out of that theater a different person than I went in. Like any other young boy, I wanted to BE Luke Skywalker, but there was much more than that going on. I wanted to learn how movies were made, to figure out how those ships were built and made to fly and, maybe, one day, do that myself.

    30 years later, I’m doing exactly that. I’m a CGI artist. I build spaceships and make them fly. I’m not a professional (yet) but I’m getting there, and I owe no small debt to George Lucas and his vision of “A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away.”

    Happy Birthday, Star Wars. May the Force be with you, always.

  4. May 25, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Love that Star Destroyer cake!

  5. May 25, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    10 year phantom menace anniversary… you have got to be kidding.

  6. May 25, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Also, Happy Towel Day, Mojo.

  7. 7 _pole
    May 25, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Happy Birthday, Star Wars!

    The soundboard is a great resource! And actually if you check your browser’s cache, all the mp3s are stored in there. Or download them here: http://rapidshare.com/files/237208100/Star_Wars_Soundboard.rar

    Sadly, I was far too young to see the original trilogy in theater. I envy you guys! I really do.

  8. 8 Don
    May 25, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    32 years ago I was sitting at the midnight showing of Star Wars at Chapel Hill Mall in Akron, Ohio. I was about to graduate from High School and a buddy and I decided to go to the movies, having no idea what we were about to see – it was just dumb luck that we were there.

    It was the first time I ever heard an audience cheer and applaud at the movies. It was a magic night and my life was never the same.

    Now, then – it’s the tenth anniversary of WHAT?

  9. 9 Jon S.
    May 25, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I also went to see Star Wars when I was young… 11 years old. It fostered a lifelong interest in science fiction which has been one of the defining aspects on my life. However, the movie I saw was not the one you think.

    When I was 11, I saw Star Wars Episode I… and it was amazing.

    For months afterward, I wouldn’t stop talking about lightsabers, robot armies and blaster battles. I watched all the original Star Wars movies, bought Star Wars books, toys and models, and even read the published scripts. A lifelong interest in Star Wars, all triggered by Episode I.

    Sure, you people might love bashing Episode I endlessly, like it was some horrible movie in the same league as Battlefield Earth. To me, however, it will always hold a special place in my heart as the film that introduced me to the Star Wars universe… and an exciting and fun thrill ride that, despite its flaws, is still a hugely entertaining movie. You guys might be blind to it, but Episode I is still firing up the imaginations of Star Wars fans both young and old worldwide.

  10. 10 Colonial Warrior
    May 25, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Happy B-Day to Star Wars. Yep I clearly remember biking to the theatre right outside Andrews Air Force Base to watch it with a friend. We made the long trip at least 8 times and we knew both my parent and his would go ballistic if they knew we went that far away. But ya know it was worth it each and every time. We learned more and more each time we went.
    Yes Lucas added to my love of CGI, Modeling, art and movies but Irwin Allen and The Great Bird of The Galaxy had already cemented that notion in my brain years earlier. Still the one that totally blew me away when I saw it originally on the big screen was 2001: A Space Odyssey. It was all so real looking and believable, I just couldn’t get over it and then it went Disney on me at the end not making alot of sense at the time. Then Lucas comes out and does Star Wars and the Action and Story are great the battles were cool the ships were like nothing I had ever imagined.
    He breathed new life into my imagination of what could be fun to try or futuristic in style. Hmm 2001 could have used a really cool space battle.. oh and I like that Star Destroyer Cake and the Mr. Bill in Carbonite cake but the decapitated Ewoks might be a bit disturbing hehe..

  11. 11 darthmojo
    May 26, 2009 at 12:57 am

    I think we all have similar stories, although the amount the movie affected you is probably directly proportional to your age. I’d wager if you were in the 7-12 range, it had a PROFOUND effect on you (I was 10, probably the perfect age – old enough to understand what you were watching but still quite impressionable).

    Like many others, I walked out of the theater a very different person. It definitely changed my life and pointed the way for the years that lay ahead. There’s no doubt that I became interested in film making and visual effects because of STAR WARS, and I have absolutely no clue what I’d be doing right now if Mr. Lucas hadn’t taken the “easy way out” by majoring in film at USC (he joined the film progam because a friend told him it would be the easiest way to get through school).

    FORMER TREKKIE: Yup, without STAR WARS we wouldn’t have BSG! Although that is debatable, since Larson wrote “Adam’s Ark” (the original title) before STAR WARS was released. Of course the irony is that while BSG may have started life as an inferior “cheap rip off” of STAR WARS, I think most would agree that in the post-prequel universe, GALACTICA and STAR WARS have switched places with BSG currently reigning as the current champ. Hopefully the upcoming live-action STAR WARS TV series will even the playing field.

    JON S: It’s generally true that whichever STAR WARS movie you saw in the theater first will always be your favorite… this explains why some fans prefer EPISODE ONE over the rest. Of course, we can only hope that once these folks learn how to read and write, they will eventually come around…

  12. 12 Former Trekkie
    May 26, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Hey I know how humans appeared in the star wars galaxy.After the destruction the 12 Colonies another surviving Battlestar made a random jump.That jump placed them placed them in a galaxy far far away.

    Mojo, I thought that they wernt going to do that show anymore because they instead did that 3D clone wars cartoon.If there still going to do it I hope its a more mature show.One without gay robots. Robots are fine just not gay ones.

    May the Force that is God be with you.

  13. 13 The Lobby Lurker
    May 26, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I was a lad of 8- right in that “sweet spot” you mentioned, Mojo, and I still remember seeing Star Wars for the first time, and the next 3 times after that within the weeks after it opened. After growing up watching ‘Trek re-runs on TV with my dad, THIS was a huge impact on my young life. Aside from wanting all the toys and collectibles and crap, it got me interested in film creation, as well, and though I am working in another industry at this point, I still work on the occasional film when time allows.

    Lucas fueled and entire generation of filmmakers with his determination and vision, and he changed the studio distribution model and film merchandising business forever. Those two feats alone ALMOST make up for Jar Jar Binks. Almost.

    Happy Birthday to the original Trilogy, and that Han cake looks interesting. Mmmmmm… Carbonite!

    The Chewie cake looks good too, but watch out for those Wookie Cookies. :)

  14. 14 xore
    May 27, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Actually, my favorite Star wars movie is Episode III. I think it has the best story, pacing and (naturally) special effects out of all the films. Sure, the acting is a bit wooden, but the rest of the film more than makes up for it. As far as Episode I goes, I definitely became aware of its flaws as I grew older. However, despite its shortcomings, it is still an excellent movie.

    Also, I was reading and writing just fine at 11 years old, thank you very much. :P

  15. 15 darthmojo
    May 27, 2009 at 12:30 am

    FORMER TREKKIE: I think you need to brush up on your Star Wars trivia, the famous phrase is “May The Force Be With You,” not “May The Force That is God Be With You.” Make a note of it! Also, which Star Wars robots are gay? I don’t believe the sexuality of any robots in the Star Wars universe has been explored, or even hinted at. To be honest, I’m not sure it matters. If YOU were in the trash compactor and some droids were trying to save your life, would you stop and ask, “hey, wait a second – are you a GAY robot? Because if you are, I’d rather be crushed to death.” Of course I doubt any robot would allow you to die, even if you asked them to. They’re kind of goofy that way.

    Actually, come to think of it, you may be onto something – remember the scene at the end of STAR WARS when the Rebels are loading R2D2 into Luke’s X-Wing fighter? The technician asks “this R2 unit seems a little beat up, do you want a new one?” But few people know that in the original draft of the script, the line was “This R2 unit seems a little gay, do you want a new one?” I don’t know why it was changed – maybe Lucas was afraid that people wouldn’t like Artoo as much if they thought he was gay. Then again, perhaps it’s implied that he was beat up because he was gay! That sort of thing happens a lot in the droid community.

    Come to think of it, when Owen Lars takes Threepio’s advice to trade the malfunctioning red R2 unit for Artoo Detoo, he was supposed to say “what about that gay one? We’ll take that one.” But, once again, the line was changed to something less politically charged (if you watch the actor’s lips, you can clearly see he’s saying “gay one” and not “blue one”).

    I think you should send a letter to George Lucas and ask him directly to insure that no gay robots will ever appear in the STAR WARS universe. I can see how that might ruin things for you. On the other hand, I think it actually benefits the CLONE WARS series that ALL the Clone Troopers are gay. You knew that, right?

    XORE: I’m glad you can read and write. But if you think EPIII is the best chapter in the saga and EP I is an excellent movie, please make no attempt to write any movies.

  16. 16 Former Trekkie
    May 27, 2009 at 5:45 am

    I know.I was trying to combine BSG and Star Wars.Just a little joke (since Baltar called God a “Force” of nature and all).

  17. 17 Former Trekkie
    May 27, 2009 at 6:09 am

    As for the gay Robots. I was mostly referring to 3CPO.He may not be openly gay but the way he acts around R2D2?Just do the math!

  18. May 27, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Darth Mojo- “But if you think EPIII is the best chapter in the saga and EP I is an excellent movie, please make no attempt to write any movies.”

    Agreed! This world will be a much better place without the concept of “death by broken heart”.

  19. May 27, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    R2 was a *player!* Dude was sticking it to everything….

  20. 20 darthmojo
    May 28, 2009 at 12:54 am

    TREKKIE: Who is 3CPO? I checked the STAR WARS encyclopedia and everything and I can’t find a reference to this character. Maybe you can tell me what frame of which movie he appears in. Oh, and they have already combined BSG and STAR WARS – it’s called “Battlestar Galactica – The Original Series.”

  21. 21 Jon S.
    May 28, 2009 at 5:32 am

    The sarcasm is strong with this one.

    @Former Trekkie: How can a droid be gay? Droids are incapable of sexual reproduction. I suppose if a droid was capable of sentient thought, it could assume a particular gender identity… but, if droids could think, there’d be none of us here, would there?

    I hear that the Mandalorians are perfectly fine with homosexuality, though.

    @Darth Mojo: Screenwriting is not my strong suit, so I probably won’t be penning any blockbusters in the foreseeable future. However, I do feel obligated to write up a brief explanation of how I rank the Star Wars movies, from best to worst, and why.

    #1. Episode III Revenge of the Sith: Strong story, good pacing, good writing and kick-ass fight scenes. This film’s highlights include General Grievous (who is, currently, tied with Cad Bane for my favorite Star Wars villain) and the Obi-Wan/Anakin fight. Yoda’s fight with Sidious was a bit disappointing though. Also, the Battle of Coruscant is one of the best space battle scenes ever filmed.

    #2. Episode V The Empire Strikes Back: Good story, good pacing, best writing out of all the movies. This film featured some incredible imagery, particularly the fight between Vader and Luke in the carbon freezing chamber. The dialogue was excellent as well (thanks in part to Harrison Ford’s ad-libbing).

    #3. Episode VI Return of the Jedi: Good story, moderately good pacing, writing is a bit weak. Although the space battle sequences and scenes with Palpatine are impressive, the Ewoks and Han’s cornball antics weaken the story overall.

    #4. Episode IV A New Hope: Good story, average pacing, writing is fairly good. Although this story presents an excellent introduction to the Star Wars universe, it still has some flaws. In particular, the story seems to jump ahead between the escape from the Death Star and the Battle of Yavin, not taking enough time to establish the setting and plight of the Rebellion. Also, some of the effects shots (mainly those featuring lightsabers) have not aged well.

    #5. Episode I The Phantom Menace: Average story, good pacing, average writing. Jar-Jar and Anakin are this movie’s weakest points. However, highlights such as Qui-Gon Jinn, the podracing sequence and the duel with Darth Maul make this film worth watching. (My dad always referred to this one as “The Phantom Plot”)

    #6. Episode II Attack of the Clones: Average story, bad pacing, bad writing. If you skip over the Anakin/Padme love scenes, this film is watchable. However, the pacing is far too slow, making it difficult to appreciate some of the good fight scenes (such as the Obi-Wan/Boba Fett duel. The movie picks up at the Battle of Geonosis, delivering an amazing battle sequence and an epic lightsaber duel between Yoda and Dooku. Still, this is the weakest Star Wars film out of both trilogies. (My dad’s nickname for this film was “Attack of the Droning Dialogue”)

    Hopefully that quantifies my stance a bit. I would love to see you rank the Star Wars movies, Darth Mojo, in a similar fashion. Until then, I suppose I’ll just agree to disagree with you on the merits of the prequels.

    P.S. I don’t know why I keep switching between Jon S. and Xore… I think wordpress just hates me. Anyway, sorry for any confusion.

  22. 22 James Rye
    May 28, 2009 at 6:20 am

    Some thoughts on Star Wars:

    firstly: A New Hope, how did that manage to get a U rating because back in the day, that scene where the alien gets his arm chopped off freaked me out.

    second: I love Empire and Jedi (which still has the best VFX sequences I think).

    thirdly: Modern Star Wars, meh. Not really fussed, although I’d say Attack of the Clones was the best of the modern jobs. It tried hard to be adult and to introduce some new themes to the SW Universe, but the dodgy pacing and abysmal acting prevented any thoughts of my giving it more than a 6/10 rating.

    As far as I’m concerned the old Star Wars vs Star Trek debate is over. Overall, the quality is about the same as is the cultural impact of the franchises. Star Trek (particularly TOS and DS9) has won because of better storytelling. The recent Trek film was infinetly better than The Phantom Menace, which is the film that I will always remember as the most dissapointing of all time. Hopes and dreams were crushed back in 99, but talk to people who were 10 at the time and they love it….even prefer it to the older films.

    Can a robot be gay? That is the deep metaphysical question that we must ask ourselves. Prefered Twiki myself, and he was defineltly not gay…BEE DEE BEE DEE BEE DEE….now Theopolis, well thats different. Come to think of it…can a robot be straight?

    Ryeman

  23. 23 Former Trekkie
    May 28, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Your kidding about the 3CPO thing right? You know that golden protocol droid who’s partner is R2d2?The same robot that was with R2D2 in the escape that crashed on Tatooine!Oh wait I get it.Its C3PO not 3CPO.My bad. http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/C-3PO

  24. 24 Former Trekkie
    May 28, 2009 at 7:13 am

    This is kind of an odd thing I found about C3PO. The company that made the parts for C3PO is Cybot Galactica.Anakin just assembled them.Is it more than just coincidence that they put Cy and Galactica in the same name?

  25. 25 Colonial Warrior
    May 28, 2009 at 7:21 am

    This is the kind of conversation that can only end in a gunshot. Opps sorry that’s a different show altogether…

  26. May 28, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Indeed, Happy Birthday Star Wars!

  27. May 28, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    3CPO is the crusty Chief Petty Officer droid played by Don Rickles.

  28. 28 ratherchildish
    May 28, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Awesome collection. Happy Birthday SW!!!

  29. 29 Buckaroohawk
    May 28, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Gay robots? Really?! Applying a sexual preference to a genderless object, something that is really nothing more than a walking set of wires and servo motors goes far beyond ridiculous. This has to be some kind of joke because I can’t believe that anyone would actually posit such an idea with any amount of sincerity.

    An old addage just came to mind that perfectly fits the absurdity of this subject:
    “It is better to say nothing and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.”

  30. 30 CenturionTerminator
    May 30, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I was 13 when I first saw the original Star Wars. It was during the Disco Decade.

    I didn’t see it on its opening day. But, back in junior high, I began hearing about this great movie that had laser swords and space fighters. My classmates would talk about it endlessly (one of whom was comedian Matt Weinhold).

    Then I heard about it on the news. People were lining up and waiting for hours just to see Star Wars. Lines stretched for blocks and blocks. People wanted to see it again and again. A phenomenon was born.

    Finally, I saw it during my younger brother’s birthday at the Coronet Theater in San Francisco.

    My life and the entire world hasn’t been the same since. Ultimately, Star Wars saved Star Trek and helped give birth to the classic Battlestar Galactica.

    Of course, there were loads of cheap imitators: Message From Space, Star Crash, Battle Beyond the Stars, The Last Starfighter, etc. But its impact was great nonetheless.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY STAR WARS!

  31. 31 Former Trekkie
    May 30, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Genderless!How dare you! We at the equal Robotic rights activists group believe that robotic lifeforms should be given the same rights as any other sentient being.That includes the acceptance of whatever gender role they choose as well as there sexual preference!

    3CPO isnt genderless. He is always referred to as he.

    Other than the “Gay” robots I love star wars! Happy BDAY!

  32. 32 Former Trekkie
    May 30, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Damn. I keep misspelling C3PO!

  33. May 31, 2009 at 4:44 am

    I love the bunch that posts on your blog, Mojo.

  34. 34 james Rye
    June 1, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    George Lucas was clearly a visionary for equal rights, much in the same way as Gene Roddenberry. His subtle suggestive hints that it would be acceptable in a galaxy far far away from former trekkies to be homosexual is a testament to his far-sightedness.

    The fallacy of programming a ‘gay’ droid with no discernable method of procreation not withstanding, wasn’t there a droid bounty hunter who wanted droids to rule the universe in one of the books?

    Anyway,

    does anyone know anything about the mooted Galactica remake…reboot imagining thing set for a cinematic coat tails of star Treks success thingy?

  35. 35 Boris
    June 3, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    “Maybe you can tell me what frame of which movie he appears in.”

    I sense subtle heresy here. Don’t you know that every minor character that ever appeared in the canon must be fleshed out in the EU? There are no unimportant characters in the Holy Writ. Take R-3PO, for example – don’t tell me you haven’t been been able to notice the poor droid without looking for him specifically:

    http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/R-3PO


Leave a Reply

