24
Apr
09

and the winner is…

goldmedal-rb

Ladies, gentlemen and small, furry creatures from Alpha Centauri, we have a winner!  Thanks to everyone who contributed a name for my root beer float recipe.  Some of my favorites were Pan Galactica Gargle Blaster, The Pickled Fisheye, Daz Mojo, and Ambrojo.   For some reason, the majority of contestants thought they had to somehow make the name of the drink related to BSG, which I found very confusing since none of the ingredients include sheet metal, Tylium or naked Booomers.  On the other hand, I applaud those who recognized we were naming a root beer float based on the fact that it used caramel ice cream instead of the traditional vanilla (or, I should say, the one  guy who took that into consideration).  Still, try as I might, I couldn’t ignore the clever BSG-related names that you crazy, knuckle-headed Darth Mojo readers came up with!

Ultimately, I really liked the idea that “FTL” almost looks like the word “float.”   So, the name of this drink will forever be remembered as:

 

 ROOT BEER FTL

 

While no one actually suggested this name, reader “Lord Link” was the first one with the idea of getting the word “FTL” in there somewhere, so kudos go to him.  The prize?  As soon as Mr. Link tells me what his favorite ship is in the BSG, Trek or B5  universe, I’ll provide him with a custom rendering of that ship with whatever angle and backdrop makes him happy.

All hail Lord Link!  Feel free to use the comments section of this post to “think out loud” about what you want your rendering to look like.  Perhaps your fellow Darth Mojo readers will chime in and offer suggestions :-)

I hereby order all of you to have a great weekend and, if you haven’t already, get out there and make yourself a ROOT BEER FTL!  And remember to tell us how you like it.


14 Responses to “and the winner is…”


  1. 1 Millions
    April 24, 2009 at 3:36 am

    Thats a cool name ^^; as a side note of something you may not know, FTL is the abbreviation of ‘For the lose’ on the internet. Over the net that reads as ‘ROOT BEER SUCKS’ hahah

  2. April 24, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Well done your Lordship… (if that is your real name)

  3. 3 Boris
    April 24, 2009 at 4:09 am

    Thanks for the honorable mention. I think the BSG influence comes from the moderate bias of your blog towards BSG, which is especially apparent in non-TV posts that still contain the occassional BSG reference, as opposed to one from B5, Star Trek, Star Wars or another show.

  4. 4 Tindriel
    April 24, 2009 at 5:12 am

    Congrats to the winner… I really envy him right now :)

    Shadow’s battleships are the best for me (or at least is what says my tattoo). I love cylon raiders too, but I would definitely ask for a shadow one….

  5. 5 doubleofive
    April 24, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Congrats Lord Link! And that would have been the exact prize I was hoping for! Bummer for me just sticking to BSG references. I think some of my names would have been good for a more “adult” beverage though. I call dibs on naming a drink “Tigh’s Eye”! :-D

  6. April 24, 2009 at 5:31 am

    I always like the Brakiri Avioki class cruiser. But I suspect these old models would never hold up to a rendering in full HD.

  7. 7 Danb
    April 24, 2009 at 7:53 am

    That’s an…unfortunate choice of name. My first thought when expanding FTL is not “Faster Than Light”, but “For The Lose”.

    Apparently I spend too much time on the internet and not enough time reading/watching/listening to SF.

  8. 8 Boris
    April 24, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Lord Link! Make the best of this multi-show opportunity and ask for a Minbari cruiser slashing Galactica in half with its main energy beam!

    (On the other hand, Galactica could probably nuke the Minbari cruiser, and its FTL is much better, so I’m not quite sure who’d win.)

  9. April 24, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    letz get undrunk together with ROOT BEER FTL! :)

  10. 10 Centurion005
    April 25, 2009 at 5:57 am

    Funny. ST:DS9 was full of root beer references. A popular favorite at quarks bar.lol.:)

    My own BSG slogan.

    There are those who believe that root beer was invented out there.

    Root beer was created by man.
    It tastes good.
    It evolved to include ice cream.
    There are many recipes.
    But to make the best root beer just follow your own plan.

    By the way when is “the plan” gonna air?

  11. April 26, 2009 at 8:43 am

    I know nothing about root beer (AFAIK we don’t have it in the UK), but I know a lot about BSG, so BSG themed names it was for me. :)

  12. 12 Lord Link
    April 26, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Wow!! I’m really honored you liked the FTL enough to choose my idea from amongst the many, many great ideas.

    Is for my prize, as much as I enjoy all of the projects Mojo has worked on (ST, B5, and BSG); In terms of starship design, I love the Battlestar designs the most. They sit so closely on the edge of “Hey, that could actually work!” to really pique the space-geek in me.

    After a quick check through some of the various BSG images available online, I have come to a conclusion. Not enough Pegasus!! I’ve always loved looking at Pegasus, trying to find all the little things that the Colonial’s improved on over the 50 years between the two ships.

    That being said, I’m not sure exactly how I would “pose” “The Beast”. I’ve been thinking the standard shot from the port bow would be great, to make sure we can see those unique Pegasus engine clusters. There’s also a part of me that would like to see an “action shot”, with those glorious main battery guns turning some unseen Basestar in to slag.

    I’m definitely open to suggestions on the scene, but I’m pretty set on Pegasus. What does everybody think?

  13. 13 doubleofive
    April 27, 2009 at 5:46 am

    I agree with it being The Beast. A shot with it opening fire would be awesome (if you can do that, Mojo), but we never got to see much of the dual hanger pods. Any possibility we can have a visual guide to Pegasus, maybe an explanation of how the dual hangers would work? How do you get on a Raptor when there’s no elevator to load people from?

  14. 14 tommyc
    April 27, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Excellent choice, Congrats!


Leave a Reply

