25
Mar
09

NSFW

mojous03

Welcome to another edition of NSFW (that’s No Sci-Fi Wednesdays  for the uninitiated), my attempt at bringing you a weekly look at something that has nothing to do with spaceship (click here to see the inaugural post).  This week we have a picture of a pigeon I took at Union Station a few years ago.  Isn’t it lovely?  You can even click it for a larger version.  This post also marks a new milestone – it’s short.  

See, one of the reasons my posting schedule is erratic at best is because I generally like to roll my sleeves up and really  dig in to a post; even when I start out planning to write nothing more than a photo caption, I end up going into exhaustive detail simply because, if I were reading  this blog, I’d want to know everything!   Since what I write has more in common with magazine articles than blog posts, it takes time – time that I wish I had more of.

In any case, more mega-posts are certainly on the way, but in the meantime I’m trying to teach myself that it’s ok to post stuff that doesn’t turn into a marathon, wrist-breaking typing session.  Like this one! 

 Truth be told, I have been very busy working on a top-secret project, so every time I think about doing a new post, I realize I should be spending that time working on LLT (that’s the code name – I offer my services as CGI slave for a week to anyone who actually figures out what it stands for).  In addition, my nagging back pain means I can’t sit in front of the computer for super-long stretches at a time, so all of this put together means blogging takes a back seat – for now.

Next monday is happy happy joy joy day (or surgery, as some call it) plus I’m almost finished with the initial phase of LLT, so I should be able to spend a little more time blogging in the near future.  In the meantime, I’ll try to get SOMETHING out there on a more regular basis, even if it’s just a quickie.

So say we all!

Mojo

 


19 Responses to “NSFW”


  1. 1 ety3
    March 25, 2009 at 1:44 am

    Um, “Long-Legged Turducken?”

  2. 2 Chris MC
    March 25, 2009 at 2:00 am

    Kara?

    PS loved the finale, I can’t see Bill Adama staying alone for ever, especially once Tigh gets the ‘still up and running!

  3. 3 Andy
    March 25, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Good luck with the surgery, hope it goes well for you.

  4. 4 Frantelle
    March 25, 2009 at 4:43 am

    So that’s what happened to Kara Thrace then eh? Ended up in Union Station.

  5. March 25, 2009 at 6:01 am

    LLT = Lindsey Lohan Terminated
    Little Lost Tiberius
    Lithuanian Language Tutor
    Lightwave Launch Test
    Lamb Lettuce & Tomatoes

  6. 6 centurion005
    March 25, 2009 at 6:46 am

    Hey is this an ode to the lee adama pigeon scene? Man was created by pigeons. We rebelled we evolved and then we create the cylons!LOL.

    Do you have a diagram of the colony from the BSG finale? I want to see its true shape. I wanted to edit a B5 shadow ship to make it look more like the colony.But I need to see its layout first.Personally I never liked B5. Thought it was a cheesy rip off of DS9.

  7. March 25, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Just a quick note to say good luck with your surgery next week… and also say that this post is NOT sci-fi UNrelated…

    It’s in fact related to Galactica… in that the original Cylon sounds were vocordered Pigeon “coo” sounds.

    Perhaps even the sounds that the Pigeon in your picture made. Who knows.

    This has all happened before…

  8. 8 Jim Williams
    March 25, 2009 at 8:11 am

    LLT… Lightwave Looney Tunes? Little Lost Terminator? Long Live Thrace?

    Good luck with the back surgery. I was recently diagnosed with cervical spinal stenosis and may be facing back surgery in the future.

  9. 9 Boris
    March 25, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Long lead time?

  10. 10 xore
    March 25, 2009 at 11:47 am

    This secret project wouldn’t be Season 5 of Star Trek Enterprise, would it?

    Hey, a guy can dream…

  11. 11 centurion005
    March 25, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    List of What LLT could be

    Last Little Treat.
    long little thing
    lovely local tree
    light low trade
    liberal little thing
    low little track
    Lightwave loving thrace
    Long live terra
    loving lemon time
    losing local time
    last large tonka
    late lunch tomato
    losing life tomorrow
    las lightwave toy
    little lightwave toy
    left limited thing
    little local thought
    long low technique
    lovely laser theater
    lightwave lighting trick
    lightwave laser trick
    late lunch tomorrow
    long lasting terror

    Anyone else can think of any love to here them!

  12. March 25, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Hi,
    great site! very interesting!
    Bye, Andrea from italy!

  13. 13 Colonial Warrior
    March 25, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Guys it’s spring time LLT is Little League Tryouts …

    As for B5 hmm Loved that show too. it was pitched to the studio before DS9 but DS9 did launch before B5. Some would contest that the idea for DS9 was taken from B5. But that’s another debate ( actually an old kinda boring debate already…). I know that Mojo did alot oa wonderful things on B5. The Space Battles were awesome to watch.

  14. 14 Boris
    March 26, 2009 at 4:48 am

    Mojo was also commenting on B5’s production as early as 1994, which I thought was great. You can find all of his B5 posts via Google Groups.

  15. 15 Merlyn
    March 26, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Laser Luminescence Tomography
    London landed terms
    Long Lead Time
    Language Learning and Technology
    Lanthanum Lithium Titanate
    large latency transcript
    Large Lunar Telescope
    lateral thoracotomy
    Lewis lung tumor
    Link List Table
    lipid layer thickness
    lipid-lowering therapy
    Long Lead-time
    Low Latency Transport
    low-level turbulence

  16. March 26, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Good luck on Monday’s Happy-happy, Joy-joy time.
    Been there a few times myself already :-S

  17. March 26, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    LLT – I’m racking my brain about that but not ringing any bells. I do know about “Grid” at Digital but that’s my only inside on effects gigs.

  18. 18 Boris
    March 27, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Mojo: once you get back into SF mode, how about something B5-related, like the evolution of the B5 station? All I’ve seen thus far is Peter Ledger’s artwork and the final model, but I know there were intermediate versions likewise, including one that ended up as a Newtek demo which I haven’t seen. I’m really curious about how the various parts and pieces of the station were conceived, especially in terms of function, and as far as I know, there hasn’t been a detailed article on the subject.

  19. 19 Desert Rat
    March 31, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Lucasfilm Live TV series?


Leave a Reply

