20
Mar
09

fat lady clears throat, fans hold breath

vmk2_cover

Well folks, it’s almost time – in a few short hours, the three-hour series finale of Battlestar Galactica  will rock the airwaves and we’ll all see how the saga wraps up.  Believe it or not, even *I* have avoided spoilers!  Yes, I essentially know what happens, but I purposely avoided reading the entire script or watching complete rough cuts so I might have at least a few surprises in store.  We’ve waited more than thirty years to see what sort of finish line the Galactica crosses and what fate has in store for Starbuck & Apollo… my gut tells me people will love the final episode, but please – after it’s all over, take a trip to my comments section and voice your opinion.  I think we’re all going to need to talk about it!  Above is a stirring image of a Viper I created recently, feel free to stare at it and cry for as long as you need to…


30 Responses to “fat lady clears throat, fans hold breath”


  1. 1 Andy
    March 20, 2009 at 2:39 am

    Mixed emotions about the forthcoming finale … on one hand, really looking forward to watching it, on the other, knowing that it is the final episode is a real disappointment. Nice image of the viper.

  2. March 20, 2009 at 3:13 am

    i want to know, too :(

    but since im from germany i guess i have to wait at least another 6 months.

    so ill definately avoid this comment section for the next time to not spoil myself ^^

    anyways, again, thank you for making such a great job and help providing such a genius show :)

  3. 3 Paul S
    March 20, 2009 at 3:31 am

    You really need to create that picture in some nice, handy desktop wallpaper sizes ;)

    I’ll endeavour to post once I’ve seen it!

  4. March 20, 2009 at 3:34 am

    Well, well well,… the german part of the globe have to wait until they are able to see the final cut. but its nice to know that the last part last three awesome hours… ^^

  5. March 20, 2009 at 3:58 am

    Having watched everything Ron has done, from the best parts of DS9 and now getting a pure dose of him watching BSG, I trust him implicitly. Even though I don’t see how everything could possibly be wrapped up in 2 more hours minus commercials.

    That is a beautiful image of a viper. If you get really bored, a 16×9 version would make a killer desktop wallpaper. *cough*

  6. 6 ety3
    March 20, 2009 at 7:57 am

    That “Viper Sunset” is a beautiful shot. Any chance of re-rendering it into a wallpaper-friendly size? I was ready to make that my new desktop …

    Also, I’m sure you hear people bitching about it all the time … plus, you have a life and back surgery to look forward to, … but what about ME? I want hear all kinds of anecdotes about special effects (erasing Gaeta’s leg) and OG BSG history (more Centurions!). And your work on Trek.

    OK. I’m done whining.

  7. March 20, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Well, I know a lot of good people who love this show to death and I hope the ending doesn’t disappoint.

    All I can say about this show’s ending is this. I miss Lucifer.

  8. 8 Melchior
    March 20, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Nice photo, I assume it’s a small clue in and of itself!

    You don’t happen to have it in a larger size, do you? I’ve been using some of your sci-fi candy shots for wallpapers :)

  9. 9 Juanski
    March 20, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Beautiful Picture. I am looking forward to tonight.

  10. 10 Hardhat
    March 20, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    DM: we can’t wait to the see the finale too but one small thing…some of us don’t live in the US!

    Here in the UK the finale is next Tuesday.I guess we’ll have to skip your blog until then but, in advance, thanks to all the crew (yourself especially) who re-tooled this beauty that is now the definitive BSG.

    And thanks to you for sharing out on area of fascinating area of work we rarely see blogs on…and even more rarely so grounded and down to earth.

    Continued best wishes and thanks.

    H

  11. 11 faustino
    March 20, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    Please, please, please desktop size :)

  12. March 20, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    My ghod. I’ve wanted to do that shot with an F-15 since I was about 12.

    Thank you, Mojo.

    See you beyond the Red Line.

  13. 13 Fred M.
    March 20, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Just got finished watching it. I must say I literally jumped out of the chair after the Starbuck entered “jump.” I honestly had a feeling Ron Moore was going to take it down a path of no return but in the end, didn’t.

    Not certain I agreed with the entire no technology concept, but what can you do. CGI was beautiful throughout though. Overall though, can’t complain that much except…that it’s over.

  14. 14 ScottyN0
    March 20, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    wow… I am still a little teary-eyed from the finale

  15. 15 Buckaroohawk
    March 20, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Just finished watching the finale. Won’t give anything away, but suffice it to say that it was a fitting farewell to an amazing seies. Only one small lingering question remains, however, as in my opinion one character’s fate remains too elusive.

    Still, a beautifully written, acted, and filmed finale. Every single person involved with BSG should feel an incredible sense of pride at a job very, very well done.

    Farewell, Galactica. You will be missed.

  16. 16 Frag
    March 20, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Whoa.
    That finale was fantastic! I felt like I was watching a movie the entire time. And so so much closure. In fact, I’m still digesting. Kudos to everyone! I’m going to call it right now, BEST SERIES FINALE EVER.

  17. March 20, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Tonight was only the second episode I ever watched . . . I’ve always been aware of it and familiar with the new designs and general story but I just never got around to “committing”. I happened to be around with nothing else going on and I really enjoyed the series finale.
    It was great! I really liked the way it ended – now I guess I’ll have to see how it began. Just think of all the aggravation and disappointment I would have avoided if I had taken this approach with The Sopranos. LOL

  18. 18 Bronson BeerBelly
    March 20, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    It was beautiful!
    I’m feeling every emotion there is and can’t describe in words what it meant to me, but the entire series has been epic.
    I’ll miss it like a lost loved one.

  19. 19 Melchior
    March 20, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I enjoyed the finale despite a few loose ends. I also found Ron Moore’s cameo amusing!

  20. March 20, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Kudos to the whole frakkin’ team. Y’all pulled off a STELLAR Epic!

    I’d post my amazement at certain Computer Generated effects, but don’t wanna spoil anything. You know what you did, and I can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

    Until then….

  21. March 20, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Saw the finale, and thought it was a brilliant end to one of the best sci-fi shows to ever grace television. I’ll stay spoiler free for those in Europe. I loved everything about it except the last epilogue, which I thought was unnecessary and broke the “reality” that the show worked so hard to create. It also felt a bit heavy-handed. But when I buy it on blu-ray, I’ll just stop it when I want!

  22. 22 Greg
    March 20, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Some great moments, but we still don’t know what the frak Kara was (Pythia?) or why Hera was at all special, saying she’s the mitochondrial Eve is equivalent to saying the force is made of midichlorians — weak!

    On the up side, Michael Hogan, Mary MacDonell, and Eddie Olmos really shined in this episode. The finally portrayed death as a graceful and dignified thing, which was refreshing and fitting.

  23. 23 Boris
    March 20, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Frak me, that was good. I was ready to curse out Ron D. Moore and vow never to watch his shows again. He deliberately kept us in the dark and spoiled our moods with leaks about how sour the ending would be, only to piss all over us the golden champagne of endings. Well frakking done.

  24. 24 Romantique
    March 20, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    The visual effects were beyond amazing in the finale…you guys really outdid yourselves. I’m still in tears…still need to process it all. Ron Moore, Michael Rymer and the cast and crew stayed true to all of the characters and gave us an unforgettable series finale. Thank you for being a part of it.

  25. 25 CenturionTerminator
    March 20, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Just saw the finale. The first half was great. The second half was not so great. Many questions were still left unanswered. I feel somewhat disappointed. But I nevertheless love the show. This is a million times better than Galactica 1980. At least, there were no super scouts and flying motorcycles. And Boomer and Tory got what they deserved!

  26. 26 Sonny
    March 21, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Don’t forget your promise to blog about how the Galactica was designed and who worked on it! :)

  27. 27 Snafu
    March 21, 2009 at 11:07 am

    The ending is a bit corny, except it is not so, really: the televised robot shows, the beggar in the street, the pedestrians’ indiference, the superficiality of a world cornered by advertising, what we know about the latest advances in human-supervised (opposite to piloted) robotic weapons systems, these words minutes before that about technology being faster then our capability to wield it well… It was jarring, yes. Apropos, though.

    And well done everyone!

  28. 28 Snafu
    March 21, 2009 at 11:23 am

    By the way, aren’t those “angel” Gaius and Six a bit Sapphire & Steel-like?

  29. 29 adallahq
    March 21, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    That is an absolutely beautiful image Mojo.

    I will post my comments on the Finale in your most recent blog entry :)

    Adalla

  30. 30 Snafu
    March 21, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    (Argh, I didn’t notice this thread is meant to be spoiler-free. Could you move or erase my entries?)


Leave a Reply

