14
Dec
08

movie review: day the earth stood still (2008)

PD*24979050

Whoa.  This sucked.  I mean REALLY sucked.  It starts off with an interesting premise and inspired twist on the original’s plot, but quickly descends into an incoherent mess.  Nothing makes sense, events do not logically flow into one another, I wanted the cute kid to die and the visual effects are the worst I have seen in a major Hollywood blockbuster in quite some time (what the hell, WETA, if it’s not a Peter Jackson movie do you just phone it in?).  Keanu Reeves is fine, you can’t blame him at all – it’s the fault of an unfinished script and a director who clearly just didn’t care.  And neither should you.  If you’ve never seen the original and were thinking about plopping down $10 or more to see this new one, seriously, either buy or rent the classic version and call it a day.


5 Responses to “movie review: day the earth stood still (2008)”


  1. December 15, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Funny that I got pretty much all of that from the trailer.

  2. 3 Wolf Sunfire
    December 25, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Such a detailed review. Guess I’ll have to see it now to know why you think it’s that bad. Funny, most reviews I’ve read on movies have been off. Thought I might get a decent explanation from you, but my hopes were too high.

    Plus, I know you’re in the industry, so of course you will be extra critical of the SFX stuff. You know just where to look to see how the magician pulls off his tricks. The rest of us will need a little more explanation on why the effects were lame.

    Gods, I hate Christmas!

  3. 4 darthmojo
    December 27, 2008 at 1:46 am

    Wolf, I generally like to write from-the-gut, “first impression” reviews, completely free of any kind of spoiler, so that’s what you get. Besides, the movie was so utterly disappointing it just wasn’t worth my time or yours to write and read a more detailed review. I can just let all the other critics do that, since I’m unlikely to add anything that hasn’t already been said.

    As fas as the FX go, Gort might have been the worst of the bunch. It looked VERY VERY computer generated, both in motion and look. The fact that the robot had such a muscular chest was outright laughable. One of the eerie things about the original Gort was the total smoothness and “lack” of character. Sure, maybe some of that was based on limitation of what kind of prop they could build back then, but just because now you CAN make Gort look like a mean, body-building robot doesn’t mean you should.

    And the whole sequence of “boxing him in” was retarded. It just made no sense at all to fly in these big walls and Fed Ex him to a base. WTF? It’s all just so ludicrous it’s not worth going on and on about it.

  4. 5 Wolf Sunfire
    December 27, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Thank you Darth. Now I understand your venom. I’ll still resurve my own judgment for seeing myself, but it’s off the “Must see in theater” list. I still want to see it, but I’ll wait for cable.

    I reread my comment from earlyer and may have been a little harsh. It was a bad day stuck at work. I’ve always found your site informative and entertaining, even if I don’t always agree. I especially like your insight into BSG. While my brother may not like it , I’ve been a fan since the beginning. He’s not a fan of the “shakey cam” and only watches for Grace Park.

    If you find the time, any more info about Babylon 5 would be great. Personally, I think it was the best SF series ever made. While it had many small, one episode, stories, it also had a larger story. The effects were top of the line for the time, and while they are showing their age, still look great.

    Now that BSG is coming to a close, is there any word on your next project? I assume you are involved in the movies and such, but what does the future hold for you?

    Anyway, keep up the good work,
    Wolf


Leave a Reply

