25
Jun
08

we’re working on it

“Where are the frakkin’ posts?” I can hear you screaming… they’re coming, trust me.  I’ve been really focused on previz for show 419 (the Galactica’s landing bay has been totally relit) and so blogging has been slow-going.  I’ve actually written most of the next post (VFX for “Revelations”) but I’ve been having issues with my new video host.  As soon as I manage to successfully upload video that doesn’t get re-processed into felgercarb, you’ll have something juicy to sink your teeth into.  Since I’m heading to Vancouver on Thursday for a few days of R&R, if you don’t see it tomorrow look for it early next week.  In the meantime, enjoy this lovely, hi-res image from Rougnecks: The Starship Troopers Chronicles.  While I was working on Voyager, my fellow Foundation Imagers were toiling away on the first all-CG TV series in history (no, Reboot  doesn’t count).  Check out the DVDs, you’ll be glad you did!  Maybe I can get the boys to put together a flashback of that  series… anyone interested?


19 Responses to “we’re working on it”


  1. 1 the king in shreds and tatters
    June 25, 2008 at 3:17 am

    dude, i’m watching that right now.

  2. 3 Judd Sandage
    June 25, 2008 at 7:11 am

    WHAT!!! reboot DOES count… yah bastage… granted it was more of a Saturday morning cartoon type of thing but it still counts.

  3. 4 leepe
    June 25, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Heck yea, Roughnecks all the way!!!

  4. 5 Captain Otter
    June 25, 2008 at 7:43 am

    The movie, the series, the new flick- all great. Now if only they’d come out w/ a slick, current-gen game. Can you just imagine fighting bugs on a PS3 in 1080HD?

  5. June 25, 2008 at 8:09 am

    I love the design work on Roughnecks! Any chance of getting some model shots posted?

  6. 7 Mike S
    June 25, 2008 at 8:14 am

    <>

    Yes it does.

  7. June 25, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Can you tell us why reboot doesn’t count?

  8. 9 Robb
    June 25, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Roughnecks was a great show. I believe it aired (in my locale anyhow) at 6:30am, marketed as a kids show (are kids even up that early?!). I loved it (and I have not been a kid for many years (and my wife would violently disagree)). One of the best aspects of it, aside from the cool stories and very well done CGI, was that there was no ‘cutsie’ aspect to it, like so many shows seem to feel compelled to include. If you haven’t seen it, definitely check out those dvd’s. It is basically a retelling of the movie (if memory serves). My only problem with it: Why both doing hand-to-hand combat on the ground with space bugs in the first place? Or did they just leave that part out of the story (e.g. The humans’ staging-ground-planets must be breathable, for some reason). Keep up the great posts, Mojo! I am looking forward to more of your B5-retrospectives.

  9. June 25, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Hope the wrist is doing better, Moj… I’ll be thinking of you Friday, the family & I will be in Manhattan for the day before meeting up with my folks for an anniversary trip for them.

  10. 11 AdmNaismith
    June 25, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Gerry Anderson’s redo of Captain Scarlett must figure in there somewhere.

  11. 12 Rev
    June 26, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Better yet, go finish the last two or three episodes! I’m sure the voice files are languishing on some hard drive, asking to be half inched. ;)

  12. June 26, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    i loved this show when i was younger, i was probably 13 or so when it was on TV. I too loved its nitty-gritty feel :) Kinda odd now i look back, but my mum used to also like this!

  13. 14 Boris
    June 27, 2008 at 5:28 am

    Anyone know why Foundation Imaging was dissolved? I couldn’t find detailed info on the subject.

  14. 15 Mike
    June 29, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Doesn’t Transformers: Beast Wars count? If I recall that was all CGI…

    ;)

  15. 16 darthmojo
    June 30, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    The Captain Scarlett redo came several years after Roughnecks and was supervised by Ron Thornton, who served as Foundation’s CGI visonary! So there is a connection.

  16. 17 Matt Weber
    July 1, 2008 at 5:48 am

    First thing I thought when I read that was “Beast Wars!!!”. I was very much into that show when I was in Primary school.

    Incidentally, I know it’s not really related to the post, but I was wondering if any of the BSG team have encountered this before:

    http://www.game-warden.com/bsg/

    It’s pretty well known on the web, as these things go, but I see you like fan BSG creations, and thought that if you had missed this one, you might like to see it. Anyway, love the blog, especially all the pics of the ships – damn – those are some incredibly detailed models. you guys continue to blow me away.

  17. 18 Mike S
    July 2, 2008 at 7:55 am

    I’d still like to know why Mojo doesn’t consider Reboot and Beast Wars true CG shows. Probably because they don’t use ray tracing rendering software or something technical like that. However, I, for one, do consider the Reboot a pretty good show, especially the third season.

    So, how about it Mojo, what do have against Reboot?

  18. August 29, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Yeah, I’m curious about the deliberate exclusion of Reboot, too. Or Beast Wars. Or Shadow Raiders/War Planets. Or Weird-ohs. Do none of those shows count? There was raytracing going on, shadows, mental ray rendering, all aired on TV.. sure, Foundation got sunk by Mainframe’s getting certain contracts, but that’s no reason to dismiss history.

    Bwuh?


Leave a Reply

