24
Feb
10

it’s alive!

Hey everyone… 1,000 pardons for not posting anything sooner, but as many of you have summised I am indeed working on some new material I can’t really discuss yet.  Of course, that’s no reason for not telling everyone sooner!  The fact is, after a year of freelance, going back to a regular work schedule really zapped the life out of me.  I started up soon after my last post, and when I get home i’m just so spent blogging really took a back seat – the last thing I want to do at home is sit back down in front of the computer… 

I do intend to keep the blog going, there is still plenty of great material waiting to be shared and fun stories waiting to be told – I just need to get back into having a life outside of work again (there are reasons why this job takes more out of me than usual, reasons I’ll tell you all another day).  In the meantime, I really do appreciate all your emails and comments wondering where i’ve been and if i’m ok.  I’m fine, i’ve just been at war with busy and lazy.  And even if it’s just quick updates, i’ll try to get back into the swing of things soon.  So check back now and then, we will resume broadcast!

In the meantime, search out and rent a movie called Triangle, it’s my favorite B-movie in years.  Not exactly sci-fi, but very Twilight Zone and it does involve a time loop… I’d love to know what you think of it!

27 Responses to “it’s alive!”


  1. February 24, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Oh, thank gods. I was worried there.

    Welcome back /Kotter

  2. 2 Michael Llaneza
    February 24, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    The world wondered !

  3. 3 Andy
    February 25, 2010 at 2:13 am

    Good to hear your still around, look forward to reading your future blogs.

  4. February 25, 2010 at 9:12 am

    I saw Triangle at Fantastic Film Festival and I really enjoyed it. It has some mind-boggling moments and I always enjoy a good timeloop =)

    Minor spoiler warning.

    I liked the loops within loops concept and the way previous loops were implied.

    Another B-movie I saw (during that same festival) that was quite good was the Children (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1172571/). It’s not sci-fi but still good, it’s probably the scariest film I’ve seen in recent years.

  5. 5 keytars_forever
    February 25, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Hey Mojo, we sure missed you!

    I’m glad you’re okay and hope we can see some awesome new work from you! After Johnny Eaves and Doug Drexler slowed things down on their blogs too, I was afraid I couldn’t feed my inner geek. But now I’m hopeful. :)

    I’ll definitely keep stoping by!

  6. February 25, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Its good to have you back! I seriously missed your posts. I was wondering, if its was another job or something “serious” keeping you from blogging. I’d even digipoked you, but hadnt any mail address or anything…

    Well, glad you’re back. And anxiously awaiting your “another day” post ;)

  7. 7 Adrian Gan
    February 25, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Mojo’s got his mojo back, hooray!!!

  8. 8 James
    February 25, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Welcome back boyo! Congrats on the regular gig, as well. Hope it is fulfilling creatively as well as paying those pesky bills.

  9. February 26, 2010 at 5:06 am

    Good to know it was just work keeping you away from the blog.
    Take it easy, we will keep hitting “refresh”

  10. February 26, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Glad to know you’ve just been busy! :)

  11. 11 Colonial Warrior
    February 27, 2010 at 12:51 am

    Welcome back. Glad to hear your still out there. I’ll check out Triangle as soon as I can find it. What did you think about Avatar?

  12. 12 Brodnick
    February 27, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Mojo,

    Glad your still around- looking forward to hearing about this new project.

  13. March 2, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Wow. You’re finally back. I was waiting to hear your thoughts on Avatar which never happened. Anyway looking forward to future posts when you get time.

    If you get a chance check our my blog: http://www.coregeek.net

  14. 14 Colonial Warrior
    March 5, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Ok, I just picked up and watched Triangle. Definately interesting. You have to wonder why she doesn’t try and alter the loop. Do something different or is that the whole point she keeps altering the loop and in effect is causing the loop to restart. The bit with the DeJa Vue though is a bit perplexing. In order to have that feeling you have to only remember little bits and pieces of future events but in the end you tend to believe that she knows everything that is about to happen and yet she still lets its happen.
    I would wager that it’s only because she’s desperately trying to find a way to alter it so that her son is alive once more. The Loops within loops was a good spin on the typical time loop scenario ( i.e. watching herself kill herself as well as Sally’s mass grave.) Some sort of fractured loop going on with that in particular. Normally the settings are always reverted back to original pristine condition yet Sally’s multiple bodies throws a wrench into that concept.
    All in all yet another good movie pick by you again, it’s up there with Shaolin Soccer. So what is next on the hit list.

    Colonial Warrior…

  15. March 6, 2010 at 12:33 am

    Welcome back – and I know the thing about the “back on regulars” thing. I’ve gone from (ooh) 16 years of freelance to regular work 2 weeks ago… with your old boss Ron, of all people. Does he *ever* frelling sleep?!

  16. March 6, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Glad you doing good. I had been wondering, and had hoped it was just work, aka a project keeping you busy. Still need to give you more feed back on Avatar, like you really want to hear it now…:-)

  17. March 7, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I definitely was wondering what was up. Thanks for the update…and best wishes!

  18. March 8, 2010 at 6:55 am

    So I watched Triangle. What a trippy/freaky ride. Overall I was really impressed. The story was was better than I would have expected for this type of film. Thanks for the tip. Is a film I had not heard of.

    Here’s my spoiler free review:
    http://wp.me/pOGwK-6x

  19. 19 The Lobby Lurker
    March 9, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Good to see you back- But, what, you couldn’t have made ONE post saying “I’m alive?”

    Jewish guilt aside, nice to hear you’re doing well. Just don’t let it happen again, or you might get a visit from some rather large Italian gentlemen who will reacquaint you with a sangwich made of knuckles and a pair of rather heavy shoes, before giving you swimming lessons.

    That was some Italian guilt wrapped in a threat, tied with a bow of love. :)

  20. 20 A Geek
    April 21, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    New and exciting work for Darth! Woot!

    Here’s hoping that you’ve been lurking in the shado of something big! :)

  21. 22 Mike
    May 22, 2010 at 10:22 am

    I totally know this feeling Mojo.

  22. 23 Boris
    June 1, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Well, if I were to apply my psychic powers, I’d say that whatever Mojo is working on, it can’t be final VFX for a TV show or a movie, since we’d have heard about the project by now. My guess would be previz for a major motion picture that’s still a couple of years away.

  23. 24 chuffpdx
    June 2, 2010 at 2:47 am

    I hit Mojo. Bad Bad Bad Mojo!

  24. 25 Judd Sandage
    September 10, 2010 at 1:07 am

    Oh Mojo, Oh Mojo where did you go? its been 6 months my man… you still haven’t shown us more behind the scenes stuff form B5 let alone anything else.

  25. 26 Boris
    September 19, 2010 at 4:57 am

    Judd: fully agree. More B5, especially from the pre-pilot era assuming the early CG concepts are still available. Maybe Mojo can interview Ron Thornton for a lengthy blog post.

  26. 27 Boris
    July 3, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    I like it that my psychic powers were dead-on according to IMDB. Hope we see the details eventually.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

