03
Jul
09

marching orders: go see “moon”

moon-poster

Eventually I’ll find the time to write a full review of the recently released “Moon,” but I wanted to at least get a post up telling all of you to go see it immediately.  This $5 million dollar wonder is easily the best sci-fi movie of the summer, and I guarantee it will earn a place in history right next to 2001, Alien and Blade Runner.  It’s not often we get a genre film that’s entertaining, thought-provoking and will have you and your friends in heated, philisophical debate the moment the lights come up.   “Moon” has a terrific story, lots of sci-ficandy and a tour-de-force performance by Sam Rockwell that should make the Oscar folks take notice of one of our own.  Go see it.  Now.  [please, no spoilers in the comments section - I'll write a review soon and we can have a free for all then].  Trust me, this is the one everyone’s going to be talking about for years to come.

-

16 Responses to “marching orders: go see “moon””


  1. 1 Colonial Warrior
    July 3, 2009 at 9:01 am

    It definately has a 2001/Silent Running feel to the sets. Going to definately check this one out in the theatre.

  2. July 3, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Sounds interesting, but I wonder if they’ll show it around here…

  3. 3 Snafu
    July 3, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Would you think this movie means sci-fi cinema with thoughtful stories and VFX eye-candy too has become inexpensive enough for it to perhaps proliferate? Because that would be a dream come true.

    Any box-office data saying how well it is doing?

  4. July 3, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I’ve been intrigued by this for a couple months. They’re doing a hell of a job promoting it, even courting podcasters.

    Now if I could just find it close to me…

  5. July 3, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    I plan on seeing it when it reaches my neck of the woods. Right now it’s only playing in 2 theaters in the Boston area that I wouldn’t go out of my way for.

  6. 6 tommyc
    July 5, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    There is a great article in Cinefex this month about the special effects. A lot of models, a lot of split screens and a lot of favors called in, apparently. I’m excited to see what they did. The interiors remind me of the Nostromo in Alien.

    Besides, Sam Rockwell (Guy Fleegman) almost saved Charlie’s Angels single-handedly.

    I take that back. No one could ACTUALLY save Charlie’s Angels, but Rockwell is excellent in all of his movies.

  7. 7 _pole
    July 6, 2009 at 3:01 am

    I’ve been looking forward to this too, since I saw the trailer on apple.com/trailers. Glad you liked it, that means it’s at least as good as I though it would be!

  8. July 7, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    I’m hoping this comes to my local cinema,as it looks like it’s going to get a small release here in the UK !!

  9. 9 Boris
    July 8, 2009 at 4:00 am

    I’m sold, but I can’t find it among the upcoming releases in the Czech Republic. I guess I’ll have to look for it in smaller cinemas or wait for the DVD/Blu-ray release.

  10. 10 Greg
    July 8, 2009 at 6:36 am

    Saw it last Friday, it was excellent — everything I wanted it to be.

  11. 11 Marc
    July 12, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Thought it was pretty good. Much better than Land of the lost!

  12. 12 James Rye
    July 13, 2009 at 5:39 am

    hmmm, moon is getting good press here in the UK and has graced the cover of some film magazines. Hopefully its UK take will help it to clear its budget and it’ll make some money when it comes to DVD.

  13. July 21, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Moon was awesome. A 5/5 definitely. Would I change anything? Can’t say I would. I found no plot holes, and the way they deal with the twists is excellent. Even if you guess them, it doesn’t matter. The character and story are paramount — the twists are just icing.

    The first 10-15 minutes, you think GERTY is going to go all HAL on us, but it goes in a completely different direction than I anticipated.

    Fantastic. I can’t stop talking about this movie.

  14. August 10, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Finally got to see this tonight !! Loved it !!! :)

  15. September 8, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    I saw this last night on your word Mojo, and loved it, as did everyone I dragged to it. I love non-epic sci-fi

  16. July 1, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    This movie was spectacular. I saw it not having any idea what it was about. Its definitely influenced by the great films before it, 2001, Bladerunner, etc. Thankfully it doesn’t just pay homage to sci-fi greats, but builds on it, looking at a slightly different facet of meta/humanity with its own twist.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

